The Heiress Gets a Duke background
The Heiress Gets a Duke_rough draft cove

The Heiress Gets a Duke

 The Gilded Age Heiresses Book 1
January 26, 2021 | ISBN: 9780593197202

Even a fortune forged in railroads and steel can't buy entrance into the upper echelons of high society--for that you need a marriage of convenience.

Sold Out at Book of the Month

Even a fortune forged in railroads and steel can't buy entrance into the upper echelons of high society--for that you need a marriage of convenience.

American heiress August Crenshaw has aspirations. But unlike her peers, it isn't some stuffy British Lord she wants wrapped around her finger--it's Crenshaw Iron Works, the family business. When it's clear that August's outrageously progressive ways render her unsuitable for a respectable match, her parents offer up her younger sister to the highest entitled bidder instead. This simply will not do. August refuses to leave her sister to the mercy of a loveless marriage.

Evan Sterling, the Duke of Rothschild, has no intention of walking away from the marriage. He's recently inherited the title only to find his coffers empty, and with countless lives depending on him, he can't walk away from the fortune a Crenshaw heiress would bring him. But after meeting her fiery sister, he realizes Violet isn't the heiress he wants. He wants August, and he always gets what he wants.

But August won't go peacefully to her fate. She decides to show Rothschild that she's no typical London wallflower. Little does she realize that every stunt she pulls to make him call off the wedding only makes him like her even more.

Praise

“A fun, fresh historical romance that gives both formidable characters their due.”—Publishers Weekly

“A delightfully entertaining read, rich with romance, glamour, and lush Victorian detail. Harper St. George truly captures the spirt of the era.”—Mimi Matthews, USA Today bestselling author
 

“The Heiress Gets a Duke is a charming, compulsively readable delight and I can’t wait for the next book from Harper St George’s magical pen!”—Evie Dunmore, USA Today bestselling author
 

“A sexy, emotional, romantic tale…Harper St. George is a must-buy for me!”—Terri Brisbin, USA Today bestselling author
 

“Wit, seduction and passion blend seamlessly to create this deeply emotional romance. St. George weaves an intriguing plot with complex characters to provide the perfect sensual escape. There’s nothing I didn’t love about The Heiress Gets a Duke, especially its lush, captivating glimpse into history.”—Anabelle Bryant, USA Today bestselling author 
 

“Rich with period detail, The Heiress Gets a Duke brings to life the Gilded Age’s dollar princesses in this smart, sexy, and oh so satisfying story.”—Laurie Benson, award-winning author of The Sommersby Brides series

“You’ll sigh, you’ll cry, and you’ll grin yourself silly as this independent and cynical heiress finally gets her duke.”—Virginia Heath, author of Beguiled at the Wedding

“Fans of Courtney Milan and Scarlett Peckham will enjoy this ‘The Gilded Age Heiresses’ series opener.”—Library Journal